straight 8

straight up filmmaking since 1999

one super 8 cartridge no editing

we help people get films out of their heads and onto a screen and into other peoples’ heads

(or what’s the point?)

if you have a straight 8 in you

we want to see it

straight 8 shootout online #1

the first ever straight 8 shootout with a live-online-premiere

come to this page on thursday 6th december 2018 at 2pm uk time

to watch 15 ad-industry companies go head-to-head live for charity with films they've not even seen yet

//// IF YOU'RE NOT SEEING THE LIVE STREAM AFTER 2PM UK TIME, PLEASE REFRESH YOUR BROWSER PAGE //// OR SHIFT+CLICK RELOAD ICON IN BROWSER URL BAR IF STILL NO GOOD //// SEE YOU OVER THERE

each film was shot according to straight 8 rules on one roll of super 8mm film with only in-camera editing and no post-production. nobody sees them until their live premiere - where you and the whole world can be watching

download a reminder calendar here + say you’ll be there and invite friends: facebook event



thursday 6 december - 2pm london time

- - - 6am Pacific Time - 9am Eastern Time - 3pm Central European Time - 4pm South Africa - 5pm Moscow - 6pm Abu Dhabi - 7pm Islamabad - 9pm Bangkok - 10pm Beijing - 11pm Tokyo - 12am Eastern Aus - - -

live intro - live premiere - live vote - live winner announcement - ALL in 90 minutes


in competition:

el rio buenos aires // MINDSEYE MEDIA LONDON // hey baby venice beach // HEY WONDERFUL LOS ANGELES // apache color los angeles // FRAMESTORE PICTURES NEW YORK // hog butcher + tessa chicago // FINAL CUT NEW YORK // TAIYO KIKAKU TOKYO // HDAT TOKYO (2 teams) // GROUNDGLASS CAPE TOWN // AD DYNAMO CAPETOWN // THE RUDEBOY COLLECTIVE JOHANNESBURG // THEY JOHANNESBURG //

any company worldwide in any creative industry can enter shootout


all entered films are being shown. (straight 8 shootout is not for the faint-hearted!)

gold / silver / bronze winning companies voted live online by entered companies only

winners get a trophy and to choose the charities to receive donations

plus

+ audience award from global viewers + prize draw for viewers +


thanks to our main partners and to all the companies brave enough to put it all on the line, online

processing partner: cinelab london

trophy partner: machine shop sfx

Screen Shot 2018-09-20 at 14.00.44.png

watch these past films from our shootouts at cannes, ciclope and adfest


just some of the companies that have braved straight 8 shootout so far and some of the charities that have benefited...