straight 8

straight up filmmaking since 1999

one super 8 cartridge no editing

we help people get films out of their heads and onto a screen and into other peoples’ heads

(or what’s the point?)

if you have a straight 8 in you

we want to see it

STRAIGHT 8 shootout online #1

THE first ever STRAIGHT 8 shootout with a live-online-premiere

THE WORLD IS invitED


deadline to enter is friday october 19th unless places run out sooner

- enter only on this page below -


ENTERTAIN THE WORLD FOR 2.5 MINUTES

MAKE A FILM ABOUT ANYTHING

ON ONE ROLL OF SUPER 8, FILMING IN STORY ORDER WITH NO RE-TAKES

AND WITH NO EDITING OR POST PRODUCTION

/YOU SHOOT/

/WE PROCESS/

/YOU make your SOUNDTRACK ‘BLIND’*/

* you will not have seen your film yet


you’ll See your WORK for the FIRST time at our live global online premiere where THE WORLD WILL BE WATCHING


thursday 6 december - 2pm london time

- - - 6am Pacific Time - 9am Eastern Time - 3pm Central European Time - 4pm South Africa - 5pm Moscow - 6pm Abu Dhabi - 7pm Islamabad - 9pm Bangkok - 10pm Beijing - 11pm Tokyo - 12pm Eastern Aus - - -

live intro - live premiere - live vote - live winner announcement - all in 90 minutes


ANY TYPE OF CREATIVE COMPANIES WORLDWIDE ARE WELCOME

places strictly limited to 24 COMPANIES

this is a twist on our popular competitions at cannes film festival and cannes ad festival - find out more here and here


some of the companies ALREADY ENTERing:

hey baby venice beach // HEY WONDERFUL LOS ANGELES // apache color los angeles // FRAMESTORE PICTURES NEW YORK // hog butcher + tessa chicago // FINAL CUT NEW YORK // OGILVY NEW YORK // TAIYO KIKAKU TOKYO // HDAT TOKYO (2 teams) // GROUNDGLASS CAPE TOWN // AD DYNAMO CAPETOWN // THE RUDEBOY COLLECTIVE JOHANNESBURG // THEY JOHANNESBURG //

& you?

ANY COMPANY WORLDWIDE IN ANY CREATIVE INDUSTRY IS WELCOME


all entered films will be shown. this is NOT FOR THE FAINT-HEARTED!

GOLD / SILVER / BRONZE WINNING COMPANIES VOTED LIVE ONLINE BY ENTERED COMPANIES ONLY

WINNERS GET A TROPHY AND TO CHOOSE THE CHARITIES TO RECEIVE DONATIONS

PLUS

+ AUDIENCE AWARD FROM GLOBAL VIEWERS + PRIZE DRAW FOR VIEWERS +


ENTRY FEE: £750GBP - <CONVERT IT>

SEE INCLUSIONS / EXCLUSIONS BELOW

entry deadline: NOW

entry is only available until all 24 places have been taken

FILM DELIVERY DEADLINE: MONDAY 5 NOVEMBER

EXPOSED SUPER 8 CARTRIDGE TO ARRIVE AT CINELAB IN LONDON, FOR PROCESSING AND SCANNING

SOUNDTRACK DELIVERY DEADLINE: THURSDAY 8 NOVEMBER

ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK, ‘MADE BLIND’, SENT TO US ON A LINK


- basic 8 rules here - FULL RULES APPLY -

- PLEASE EMAIL US IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS -


enter here

enter company to straight 8 shootout online #1

entry includes:

entry to this competition as described on site

entry number supplied after successful entry - this must be included visually in first 3 seconds of your film

processing, scanning from world-class motion picture film lab cinelab london

creation of master pro-res file with straight 8 slate and your soundtrack (lined up with first frame of picture)

an incredible team-building, creatively freeing experience

a nerve-wracking online premiere

voting rights

the chance to win a trophy and donate money to a charity you care about

full rules apply - available after entry

excludes:

cost of one roll of colour negative super 8mm film (approx £30 from global stockists)

cost of shipping to cinelab london for processing in time for deadline

physical film spool return (can be arranged separately)

camera hire / purchase - great super 8 cameras are easier to find than people think - check here

idea creation

props, cast, locations, insurance, catering

cost of hosting a party/renting a venue for the online premiere

cost of champagne for everyone you know when you win

-

your entry cannot be refunded but may be re-allocated by you to another company if you wish

companies may also team up and enter jointly


your participation offers a uniquely raw team creative experience, raises money for charity, results in the most thrilling way to see your rushes, your final cut and your world premiere: all at the same time, with the world watching, and competing

and supports straight 8 to continue providing any filmmakers of all levels the chance to show the world what they’re capable of. plus now our workshops, accessible to all

GET INSPIRED: SEE A SELECTION OF PREVIOUS SHOOTOUT FILMS below AND OTHER GREAT STRAIGHT 8 FILMS HERE

if you have a straight 8 in you we want to see it // thank you for supporting straight 8


THANKS TO OUR MAIN PARTNERS

PROCESSING PARTNER: CINELAB LONDON

TROPHY PARTNER: MACHINE SHOP SFX

Screen Shot 2018-09-20 at 14.00.44.png

get inspired. watch these past films from our shootouts at cannes, ciclope and adfest


just some of the companies that have braved straight 8 shootout so far and some of the charities that have benefited...